I just read an article by Lynn Beisner, “I Wish My Mother Had Aborted Me”.   With the article, she tries to explain the difference between the two phrases

“The best choice for both my mother and I would have been abortion” and “I wish I had never been born.”

The article made me sad.  It also made me angry.  First, she minimizes how a woman conceived in rape feels.

In the past couple of months, I have read two of these abortion deliverance stories that have been particularly offensive. The first story is one propagated by Rebecca Kiessling, the poster child for the no exceptions in cases of rape or incest. On her website Kiessling says that every time we say that abortion should be allowed at least in the case of rape or incest we are saying to her: "If I had my way, you’d be dead right now.” She goes onto say, “I absolutely would have been aborted if it had been legal in Michigan when I was an unborn child, and I can tell you that it hurts [when people say that abortion should be legal.]"

Lynn is offended by the way Rebecca feels?  Apparently so.  Rebecca is glad to be alive.  Is that selfish or something?

As I wrote in a recent post, though I don’t know for sure that my mother would have aborted me, I’m grateful that she didn’t have the legal option to.  Of course, my feelings are discounted similar to Rebecca’s.

Lynn goes on to say:

An abortion would have absolutely been better for my mother. An abortion made it more likely that she would finish high school and get a college education. At college in the late 1960s, it seems likely that she would have found feminism or psychology or something that would have helped her overcome her childhood trauma and pick better partners. She would have been better prepared when she had children. If nothing else, getting an abortion would have saved her from plunging into poverty. She likely would have stayed in the same socioeconomic strata as her parents and grandparents who were professors. I wish she had aborted me because I love her and want what is best for her.

In reality, if Lynn’s mother had aborted her, her mother probably would have repeated the same pattern, and made the same stupid choice, and got pregnant again.   Just as my mother made the same stupid mistake again after she left us, so would have Lynn’s mother.  Abortion doesn’t solve those issues, it only postpones them. Abortion eliminates innocent people.

You know what offends me though?  That women, in particular, feminists, take the blame for other peoples choices.  I am sick and tired of seeing otherwise strong women say they wish they had been aborted because their mothers made a bad choice. Nothing your mother did was your fault. You were the innocent victim.  Stop with the guilt and live your life.

My mother made some really stupid choices in her lifetime.  You know how much of that was my fault? None!  I refuse to take the blame for her choices, I just refuse.

 

 

