Recently, and not so recently, I’ve been accused of slut-shaming.  To this day, I don’t think being a slut is something a young woman should take pride in, and I’m not afraid to say it either. 

I was made aware of a Tumblr post created which highlights some of my tweets.  Very little context was added by @notmuchelse, who says “the tweets speak for themselves”.  I hope so!  I’d hate to know they didn’t!  At the end of her post, she goes on to say:

Aw heck! Used to be, you could call a gal a slut & imply her daughter’s a slut & everyone knew we was just funnin’! It’s a compliment, really!!

SURE it is Lisa!  Geez, and you have to wonder what (or who) we’re up against? 

Those who advocate being a slut, are the same people who advocate killing the unborn baby created by the act of sex.  They admonish me for “slut-shaming”, yet defend those who spread their love (and possibly their diseases). 

But hey, let’s get real here. 

Am I the one telling young women they should be free to go out and be subjected to real shame, the internal shame you feel from being a slut?  No, I’m not. 

Am I the one who tells young women they should risk contracting HIV or other STI’s, just so they can enjoy orgasms?  No, I’m not.

Am I the one who says women shouldn’t be ashamed of killing their unborn children? No, I’m not.

Shame is a part of our emotional compass which leads us into knowing what’s right, and what’s wrong.  To erase the shame, is to change what most of us know as wrong, into being right, or at least acceptable.  The problem with this is, there is no stopping point.  There will always be something to be made acceptable. Killing newborns? #justsayin

